Drilling Along Montana’s Eastern Slope

April 7: I took a trip up to Pondera County, Montana to update my stock photo files and do a little field research.

I had gotten word that a new well was permitted at the New Miami Colony (more info in a few days on that). On the way to the new permit location, I came across Rig #5 from FX Drilling. The rig was hard at work punching a hole on the Colony. The rig is located about 1/4 mile from the UnionTown “New Miami” well.

After shooting a few shots of the FX Rig, I paid a visit to the UnionTown well. The submersible pump was powered up and working. There was a flow into the tanks at the site, and gas was being flared.

I next headed to Primary Petroleum’s “Benton Bench” site to see if the rig was there. It wasn’t. Their rig (Patterson UTI #12) just wrapped up Primary’s second Dupuyer Ridge well (located in the Gypsy Basin area). It seems the rig and crew are taking a well deserved brief break before moving to Benton Bench.

From there, I headed back to Teton County, and paid a visit to Primary Petroleum’s “Ralston” location. They finished drilling this site several weeks ago. Now there is a “workover” rig from Liquid Gold, a Cut Bank well service firm.

Reports are that the workover rig is doing some “science” on the hole, gathering detailed information on the formations underground.

About montanaoilreport

After my first job at a newspaper -- delivering papers for the Jackson (TN) Sun, ink was in my veins. Since the 1970's I've worked in every area of the Printing and Publishing industry, with most of that time spent in the pressroom. In 2008 I moved to Montana and purchased the Sun Times of Fairfield (fairfieldsuntimes.com). In 2011 I realized that most media outlets were either ignoring, or attacking, the growing oil and gas industry in Montana, so I started the Montana Oil Report as the source of information on this important industry.
This entry was posted in Breaking News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drilling Along Montana’s Eastern Slope

  1. Robert Olin says:

    Thanks for being our eyes and ears in the field. Glad I found you.

Leave a Reply

